Lens suggestion for night photography with a Nikon D7100 ?

lkbuchananlkbuchanan Posts: 17Member
edited August 2013 in D90/D7x00
I am new to photography and recently got a Nikon D7100 from my husband as a birthday gift. I have always loved photography but never had the gear to get really involved with it till now. I absolutely love taking photos at night! I currently have the Nikon 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED IF AF-S DX VR II lens. I think the lens is ok but not spectacular for night photography. I understand that the Nikon D7100 may not be the best camera for night photography due to the cropped frame, but I just can not see buying a full frame camera until I get a better grasp and understanding of some camera basics first. Anyhow, I was just curious if anyone had any recommendations for a lens for night photography? I have been researching A LOT and see so many different opinions on lenses. If anyone has hands on experience they could share, it would be greatly appreciated! Also just to mention I do not want to spend a whole lot of money as I want to keep my learning and experimenting costs down as much as possible but still achieve a degree of quality so perhaps one day I could do it more professionally.
Thanks!

Comments

• JJ_SOJJ_SO Posts: 1,158Member
    And here you will read also different opinions. Welcome to NRF, anyway :)

I suggest to rent some of the suggested lenses to get a better idea if you like the way those lenses need to be used. Could you specify a bit more your kind of shooting? Is it moving objects, people or static objects which would lead to the conclusion to get a decent tripod?

If you want to use the lenses later on in case you upgrade to FX, you should take care if they are already usable for FX, but that usually means "more money". At the moment you would eventually go for 35/1.8 and 85/1.8 (genuine Nikkors). In my opinion, Sigma's 30/1.4 and 18-35/1.8 deserve a closer looks well but they are "only" DX.