D800 Books

snoop85snoop85 Posts: 4Member
edited January 2013 in D6x0/D7x0/D8x0
So I just brought myself a D800 and SB910 few weeks ago (a christmas for myself I guess you could call it). With the aim to start photography for weddings and events with my old uni friend who has been shooting weddings for 2-3 years now, last year he moved to DSLR. 

I am relative new to DSLR photography, did it back at school for a while, when they stilled used a dark room to develop photos.  Is there any good books people can recommend for both camera and speedlight. I know nothing about now to use a speedlight, total beginner. 

Any tips/suggestions/advice welcome :)
D800, SB910,

Comments

• D5100_OwnerD5100_Owner Posts: 2Member
    My tip is to not buy the books.  The books are basically restated manuals.  Read the manuals over a day or two (I read my d5100 manual while the battery was charging) and see if you have less trouble.  Also, look at website like ken rockwell.  While they are not perfect, and have many flaws, they get you thinking, and that is what matters.  Most of all experiment.  I had no idea what ISO was until I moved out of auto, and had to figure it out on my old camera (Panasonic FZ-100).  They more you get out and shoot the easier it gets.  Also talk to your friend who is a wedding photographer, he will have lots of advice I am sure.  You are also part of NR forum.  If there is any group of people who know a lot about camera its us.
    Have fun shooting and enjoy your camera.
    -D5100 owner
  • MightyYMightyY Posts: 30Member
    Get yourself Thom Hogan's book.  I purchased and read through it recently.  It's very thorough and he has a section dedicated to speedlights towards the end of the book.  I highly recommend it.
  • FrauchaFraucha Posts: 10Member
    edited January 2013