Lens advice for shooting weddings with D7000

Hello :)

A couple years back I received fantastic advice from this forum (especially msmoto / ttj / spraynpray) while upgrading from D40 to D7000. I'm an amateur based in India but hoping to start shooting at weddings and for this i need some advice on lenses.

In the last two years I've got used the D7000 nicely using the kit lens 18-140mm VR that came with it. It's nice but in low light, I'm certain i need something else.

I'm thinking of picking up the 35 mm f/1.8 G and learning a bit by experimenting with it. Is that a fair approach or should i look at another lens altogether since there's no zoom in it? Or should I bundle a wide angle like tokina 11-16 mm f/2.8 AT with it. Personally, i shoot at the wide end a lot but the wedding market (here in India) demands face shots and bust length portraits the most along with some full lengths.

I have the sb-400 that i love but can upgrade that too if needed. Money's a bit tight (no job, downsized last month) so I'd have to justify the investment hence posting it here for any advice i can get.

thanks for reading!
Vaibhav

Comments

• donaldejosedonaldejose Posts: 3,692Member
    I don't shoot weddings and will let wedding photographers comment on equipment for weddings. However, I will comment that since you are looking for low light and mild telephoto ability at lower cost you could consider adding a 35mm f1.8G and a 85mm f1.8G. Your current zoom would be ok for outside daylight shooting, your 35 would be good for nighttime and indoor shots and your 85mm would be good for portraits (try shooting it as f2 with the background quite a distance behind the subject).
  • spraynprayspraynpray Posts: 6,545Moderator