Nikon camera software for absolute newbs

dissentdissent Posts: 1,346Member
I am giving away some of my older dlsr APSC cameras and lenses to relatives since I'm no longer using them. I'm looking for software recommendations for them to use to download the images, do some elementary processing, and output the finished (for them) product. I'm expecting that they will not want to be getting into RAW processing all that soon, so looking for very basic options. I've been using Lightroom for so long I'm not sure what to suggest.

What do you think? I suppose NX Studio if they have a Win 10 or 11 computer. What if they are using a Win 7 or 8 system?
- Ian . . . [D7000, D7100; Nikon glass: 35 f1.8, 85 f1.8, 70-300 VR, 105 f2.8 VR, 12-24 f4; 16-85 VR, 300 f4D, 14E-II TC, SB-400, SB-700 . . . and still plenty of ignorance]
Tagged:

Comments

• Capt_SpauldingCapt_Spaulding Posts: 739Member
    Personally, I think I’d start them out taking jpegs. Once they get comfortable with the cameras they should be in a better position to know if they want to deal with raw files and what they want from them.
  • dissentdissent Posts: 1,346Member
    Yes, definitely starting with jpgs. It's just that I've been doing a raw workflow for so long I don't think I know what a simple jpeg workflow could look like. What would you folks suggest/
    - Ian . . . [D7000, D7100; Nikon glass: 35 f1.8, 85 f1.8, 70-300 VR, 105 f2.8 VR, 12-24 f4; 16-85 VR, 300 f4D, 14E-II TC, SB-400, SB-700 . . . and still plenty of ignorance]
    edited April 11
    You know, I’m not sure what a jpeg workflow looks like. I suppose that once you sort out the picture controls and find one or two you like you can just fire away and post up to instagram.

If you’re used to running through a half dozen steps with raw files, it gets easy overthink things with jpegs
    Post edited by Capt_Spaulding on
  • ggbutcherggbutcher Posts: 392Member