Coming to nikon from canon

acroshawacroshaw Posts: 4Member
edited December 2013 in General Discussions
Hi everyone, I thought I'd post something here because every nikon user I know ( and there are a good few) , loves to hear about someone jumping over the fence from canon !!! I'm a semi pro, turning pro next year, who shoots with my identical twin brother , our website is mikecroshaw.com , we do weddings , lighting courses, and lots of portrait work :) so, why the switch ? I was shooting with a canon 5d mk 2, and then changed to a fuji xe1, which is a fabulous camera, but unfortunately I found that a lot of clients were not impressed when I turned up with the tiny fuji ! It's a sad fact that appearance still matters, and paying customers still want to see a mean looking dslr hanging from your long suffering neck , so we both looked at getting the same systems, the idea being we could swap lenses when necessary. Here are my main reasons for gong to nikon,
1) value for money . Sorry canon , I love the kit, but I picked up a d800 for £1600 , brand new !
2) the speedlights - Nikon speedlights rock, and I love the CLS system
3) image quality . If you have good technique, and patience , the d800 can produce jaw dropping studio work.

Since I've started using the d800 I've absolutely loved it. It's not perfect, no camera is , but it has a lovely interface, and so far I'm very happy to have made the switch, it helped not having any canon gear left, I can understand if you have a few l series lenses my reasons may not be enough, but for me , and my brother , it was an easy choice.
I have done a few pro shoots now, and still getting used to where everything is, but so far so good!
Tagged:

Comments

• Golf007sdGolf007sd Posts: 2,840Moderator
    Welcome to the NRF and to Nikon.