did flickr just change something? I can't post to Photo A Day

tiCreativeMediatiCreativeMedia Posts: 81Member
edited December 2013 in General Discussions
not sure what's happening, but I'm trying to post to photo a day and what I used to do to make that work isn't working any more:



Dave
D7100, 35mm 1:1.8G, 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G ED AF-S DX, 24-70mm f/2.8G ED, 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II, AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
«1

Comments

  • tiCreativeMediatiCreativeMedia Posts: 81Member
    even more interesting is that the code sample isn't even showing up!
    D7100, 35mm 1:1.8G, 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G ED AF-S DX, 24-70mm f/2.8G ED, 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II, AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
  • ChasCSChasCS Posts: 309Member
    Perhaps they are doing a routine maintenance, please send them an email to verify...
    D800, AF-S NIKKOR 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR, B+W Clear MRC 77mm, AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR, Sigma DG UV 77mm,
    SB-910~WG-AS3, SB-50, ME-1, Lexar Professional 600x 64GB SDXC UHS-I 90MB/s* x2, 400x 32GB SDHC UHS-I 60MB/s* x1
    Vanguard ALTA PRO 263AT, GH-300T, SBH-250, SBH-100, PH-22 Panhead
    Lowepro S&F Deluxe Technical Belt and Harness ~ Pouch 60 AW 50 AW & 10, S&F Toploader 70 AW, Lens Case 11 x 26cm
    FE, NIKKOR 2-20mm f/1.8, OPTEX UV 52mm, Vivitar Zoom 285, Kodacolor VR 1000 CF 135-24 EXP DX 35mm, rePlay XD1080

  • blandbland Posts: 811Member
    I just had the same problem. I don't think the problem is on Flickr's end.
  • jimojimo Posts: 2,465Member
    I also have the same problem and I can't even change the image size. It only shows original 3516x1978 and I it will not let me change it. But I can copy it out and paste it in the pad, then manually change the image size.
  • dissentdissent Posts: 1,268Member
    Are you clicking the HTML button choice instead of the (new) default "Embed" choice?
    - Ian . . . [D7000, D7100; Nikon glass: 35 f1.8, 85 f1.8, 70-300 VR, 105 f2.8 VR, 12-24 f4; 16-85 VR, 300 f4D, 14E-II TC, SB-400, SB-700 . . . and still plenty of ignorance]
  • Golf007sdGolf007sd Posts: 2,840Moderator
    edited December 2013
    Ladies and gents, when you select the image you wish to share on PAD via Flickr please make sure you push the button on the bottom of the image that says HTML vs the one that say Embed. Then as usual just copy the code and them past within PAD :)

    Problem solved. :D
    Post edited by Golf007sd on
    D4 & D7000 | Nikon Holy Trinity Set + 105 2.8 Mico + 200 F2 VR II | 300 2.8G VR II, 10.5 Fish-eye, 24 & 50 1.4G, 35 & 85 1.8G, 18-200 3.5-5.6 VR I SB-400 & 700 | TC 1.4E III, 1.7 & 2.0E III, 1.7 | Sigma 35 & 50 1.4 DG HSM | RRS Ballhead & Tripods Gear | Gitzo Monopod | Lowepro Gear | HDR via Promote Control System |
  • blandbland Posts: 811Member
    Thanks, Golf007sd!
  • jimojimo Posts: 2,465Member
    Yes I am selecting the HTML option and it will not give me the choice of change the image size.
  • tiCreativeMediatiCreativeMedia Posts: 81Member
    image
    I'm choosing the middle one, just as I've always done and it's not working
    D7100, 35mm 1:1.8G, 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G ED AF-S DX, 24-70mm f/2.8G ED, 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II, AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
  • shawninoshawnino Posts: 453Member
    It'd be great if the forum chose this opportunity to let us upload photos directly...
  • PB_PMPB_PM Posts: 4,006Member
    If you want to pay for the bandwidth I'm sure Peter will be glad to add photo hosting.
    If I take a good photo it's not my camera's fault.
  • MsmotoMsmoto Posts: 5,396Moderator
    edited December 2013

    @tiCreativeMedia
    One must choose "Grab the HTML/BBCode" on Flickr, not the "Share this via…"
    Post edited by Msmoto on
    Msmoto, mod
  • rschnaiblerschnaible Posts: 308Member
    Dave:

    I was having some issues for a couple of days with the ability to "Grab the HTML/BBCode" on Flickr. There must be something going on the server side that is impacting some members while leaving others OK to share... It was about 3 or 4 days for me before it was working again....
  • tiCreativeMediatiCreativeMedia Posts: 81Member
    @Msmoto that doesn't appear to be an option with the new flickr, and it doesn't look like I can go back to the old flickr.
    D7100, 35mm 1:1.8G, 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G ED AF-S DX, 24-70mm f/2.8G ED, 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II, AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
  • tiCreativeMediatiCreativeMedia Posts: 81Member
    ok, it does appear that I can switch back from the beta... took a little to figure out, BUT it does not appear that this option is in the new version, so eventually we won't be able to use that any more to post photos.
    D7100, 35mm 1:1.8G, 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G ED AF-S DX, 24-70mm f/2.8G ED, 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II, AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
  • kanuckkanuck Posts: 1,298Member
    Thanks Golf you are right must be HTML and problem solved :)
  • HipShotHipShot Posts: 473Member
    I've found that the simplest way for me to post an image in PAD is to open the "640" image in a new window, copy the url, and paste it here. Works every time. FWIW.
  • flight3flight3 Posts: 379Member
    edited December 2013
    @HipShot You helped me figure it out!

    1. Click "view all sizes" of the Flickr image.
    2. Click the medium "640" size.
    3. Right click on the image and select "copy image address."
    4. Now when you go to post your photo on PAD click on the image tab (Highligted in red in the image below)
    image
    5. Last paste the image address inbetween the 2 quotation marks.

    Whether this is the easiest way I don't know, but it does work with the old and new flickr.
    Post edited by flight3 on
    Nikon D3100, 18-55mm VR, 50mm 1.8D, Sigma 70-200mm 2.8 OS, Yongnuo YN-560 II Speedlight Flash www.dreshad.com
  • TaoTeJaredTaoTeJared Posts: 1,306Member
    The 800x534 selection on Flickr does not have the HTML loading correctly - it is using the embed code. All other size selections are working fine.
    D800, D300, D50(ir converted), FujiX100, Canon G11, Olympus TG2. Nikon lenses - 24mm 2.8, 35mm 1.8, (5 in all)50mm, 60mm, 85mm 1.8, 105vr, 105 f2.5, 180mm 2.8, 70-200vr1, 24-120vr f4. Tokina 12-24mm, 16-28mm, 28-70mm (angenieux design), 300mm f2.8. Sigma 15mm fisheye. Voigtlander R2 (olive) & R2a, Voigt 35mm 2.5, Zeiss 50mm f/2, Leica 90mm f/4. I know I missed something...
  • I can't change the image size in the pull down menu, so I copied the HTML code and changed the size in 640 x 480, that worked. I have a pro account till febr. 2nd.
    Those who say it can't be done, should not interrupt those doing it!
  • Vipmediastar_JZVipmediastar_JZ Posts: 1,708Member
    looks like I just encountered this problem. Posting as normal did not work.

    I tried @flight3 method and it worked.
  • Vipmediastar_JZVipmediastar_JZ Posts: 1,708Member
    Finally figured it out. The radio button under Grab the HTML/BBCode was auto changed to embed. I now clicked the radio button HTML and share as normal. Problem solved
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 0
    edited January 2014
    @Vipmediastar_JZ that is correct, the only thing by me is, that I don't get the different formats anymore, the only format I get is the original, the pull down menu stays on that. I copy it and change the format to the small one, that is what I do.

    Anybody a solution for this?
    Post edited by [Deleted User] on
    Those who say it can't be done, should not interrupt those doing it!
  • AdeAde Posts: 1,071Member
    You may be able to revert to the old behavior (for now):

    1. Click on any photo
    2. On the bottom-left corner of the browser, see if there's an "Opt-out and Feedback" box
    3. (click it)
    4. Select "Go back to the old experience"
  • Thank you for the info ADE.

    In IE there is no possibility for this.

    In Google Chrome however I see left under the photo: Try our new photo experience beta.
    In Google Chrome I see the pull down menu with all the formats.

    IE is always ways behind.
    Those who say it can't be done, should not interrupt those doing it!
Sign In or Register to comment.