Paramount stops releasing major movies on film

Comments

• PhotobugPhotobug Posts: 5,751Member
    Any one surprised with this announcement? We all knew it was going to happen.
    D750 & D7100 | 24-70 F2.8 G AF-S ED, 70-200 F2.8 AF VR, TC-14E III, TC-1.7EII, 35 F2 AF D, 50mm F1.8G, 105mm G AF-S VR | Backup & Wife's Gear: D5500 & Sony HX50V | 18-140 AF-S ED VR DX, 55-300 AF-S G VR DX |
    |SB-800, Amaran Halo LED Ring light | MB-D16 grip| Gitzo GT3541 + RRS BH-55LR, Gitzo GM2942 + Sirui L-10 | RRS gear | Lowepro, ThinkTank, & Hoodman gear | BosStrap | Vello Freewave Plus wireless Remote, Leica Lens Cleaning Cloth |
  • IronheartIronheart Posts: 3,017Moderator
    I'm surprised that it took so long.
  • TaoTeJaredTaoTeJared Posts: 1,306Member
    I worked as a contractor for AMC Theaters 6 years ago and at that time they had just started testing 3 major digital projectors. Was actually really fun to see the new tech and to see what it took to install them. The projectors are larger than a refrigerator and at that time 500k a piece. The movies actually came on high end hard drives that were sent overnight separate from the Key to the box which was sent a day before - all delivered by security teams. Kind of nuts to remember it. I recall later it Sony got the deal that was north of $300 million for the cost to update all of their screens. I am actually surprised to hear that anyone still uses film - I suppose some of the small independent screens.

What I found really interesting was to hear Technicolor has closed all of it's film labs. That is really amazing/interesting/sad to hear.
    D800, D300, D50(ir converted), FujiX100, Canon G11, Olympus TG2. Nikon lenses - 24mm 2.8, 35mm 1.8, (5 in all)50mm, 60mm, 85mm 1.8, 105vr, 105 f2.5, 180mm 2.8, 70-200vr1, 24-120vr f4. Tokina 12-24mm, 16-28mm, 28-70mm (angenieux design), 300mm f2.8. Sigma 15mm fisheye. Voigtlander R2 (olive) & R2a, Voigt 35mm 2.5, Zeiss 50mm f/2, Leica 90mm f/4. I know I missed something...