What about a computer for processing images?

13»

Comments

• mikepmikep Posts: 280Member
    skyeyes70 Why leave Mac out of your consideration, One you convert you never go back, I was with a PC for Donkeys years, and friend put me on to Mac,That was 7 years ago, It simply works.
    In my day job, Outlook and Excel are my mission critical applications. Outlook is fine on a mac, but my big 50 mb Excel files don't run on a mac worth a damn.

If I was a professional photographer, I would think about a Mac.
    id recommend a mac with 16gb of ram. the 15 inch macbook pro is hard to beat in many ways (except for price)

if you need windows programs, just get a program called parallels desktop, its fantastic and just lets you run windows, in a window, just like any other program, you can choose how much memory it has etc etc. it run very nicely except for intensive things like gaming, or maybe editing. but for outlook, or excel it would run it great.

here is a screenshot to illustrate : http://i.imgur.com/2f942OQ.jpg , im running xp sp3, just because i want it to be light on resources, as i only have 8gb of ram (wish i had 16 these days) - its an excellent setup, and really works very well.

you can always dual boot windows too, so you can just choose mac osx or windows at startup - another great option

i dont want to go too far off topic, and i also dont want to start a war about mac V windows, but imho, while windows 7 is great, mac is just better in a few ways. and yeah i used windows for years, but after trying a mac a couple of years back, i could never go back to windows. i just love the touchpad on a macbook, its so much nicer and more functional than any other laptop out there, swipe to scroll, swipe to go back and forward when browsing - two very simple movements that just make using a computer to browse the web 10 times easier ..... trying a normal touchpad after a mac one is just so infuriatingly awkward and slow, i cant stand it