Anyone had issues with the D800 sync speed?

ptrmckyptrmcky Posts: 44Member
edited April 2014 in D6x0/D7x0/D8x0
I usually set my D800 to ISO100, f14 and 1/200 for when I'm in the studio. Last week I had a shoot, and I accidentally knocked it 1/250. That should be fine since the D800 can sync at that speed, but I'm going through the photos now and I have a horrible line in some of the photos from the second curtain. It's more obvious in some pictures than others. In a few it's just a slightly dark gradient at the very bottom of the image, but in others there is a pure black line. Is this an issue with my camera, or has Nikon exaggerated the sync speed in the specs? If I wasn't shooting with a white background I might not have noticed it in some images, but in others they are completely black at the bottom.

Comments

  • PB_PMPB_PM Posts: 4,006Member
    I haven't noticed any issue, at 1/250s, so it might be an issue with your cameras shutter.
    If I take a good photo it's not my camera's fault.
  • ptrmckyptrmcky Posts: 44Member
    Hmm I was worried it might just be mine. I looked through all the images, and it was just 2 of them that had black in them, and they were taken consecutively. The rest I probably wouldn't have been noticed if it was taken on location. I guess I'll just know to keep it at 1/200 from now on.
  • Vipmediastar_JZVipmediastar_JZ Posts: 1,708Member
    using the alien bees at 1/250 i had no issues. using the sb-910 at sync speed sync 1/250 i had no issues.
  • spraynprayspraynpray Posts: 6,089Moderator
    @ptrmcky: If it is an issue with the shutter (and it sounds like it is), I'd be worried that the camera could fail mid session if I were you so I'd send it in for a new shutter.
    Always learning.
  • WesleyWesley Posts: 67Member
    Try using new batteries if you have wireless triggers or speedlights.
    D700: 24-70 2.8, 85 1.8G
    D3100: 18-55
    A7II: 16-35 F4, 55 1.8, 70-200 F4
  • Maybe your trigger cannot go above 1/200.
    Those who say it can't be done, should not interrupt those doing it!
  • PistnbrokePistnbroke Posts: 1,847Member
    edited April 2014
    if you set it to 1/320 FP you will have no problem even if you knock it to 1/1000+ provided your trigger system is up to it. to avoid it being knocked tape up the camera controlls ..fit a grip and use those wheels to adjust it . leave the grip in OFF and nothing can get knocked.
    or try this..
    http://www.nikonzen.com/F/forum/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=389
    Post edited by Pistnbroke on
  • TaoTeJaredTaoTeJared Posts: 1,306Member
    Nikon flashes or "other" studio flashes. Need to know that. Could have a sync issue with the flash (doubtful but does happen.)

    Nikon body "setting" in "FP" or not.
    Maybe your trigger cannot go above 1/200.
    and that was my third thought as well.

    D800, D300, D50(ir converted), FujiX100, Canon G11, Olympus TG2. Nikon lenses - 24mm 2.8, 35mm 1.8, (5 in all)50mm, 60mm, 85mm 1.8, 105vr, 105 f2.5, 180mm 2.8, 70-200vr1, 24-120vr f4. Tokina 12-24mm, 16-28mm, 28-70mm (angenieux design), 300mm f2.8. Sigma 15mm fisheye. Voigtlander R2 (olive) & R2a, Voigt 35mm 2.5, Zeiss 50mm f/2, Leica 90mm f/4. I know I missed something...
  • Vipmediastar_JZVipmediastar_JZ Posts: 1,708Member
    Since he has a D800 he can lock the Shutter and Aperture via the menu and a sub FN Option. Thats how I have mine setup. No need for tape for this. I have changed it by accident and appreciate the Lock option.
  • henrik1963henrik1963 Posts: 559Member
    I have this issue with my D800. The lower frame is black for the first to shots and problem goes away untill next time I start shooting. I am using Pocket wizard triggers - it is like they need to warm up.
  • spraynprayspraynpray Posts: 6,089Moderator
    I have this issue with my D800. The lower frame is black for the first to shots and problem goes away untill next time I start shooting. I am using Pocket wizard triggers - it is like they need to warm up.
    Wow - I just ordered a couple of triggers - hope they aren't going to play up @-)
    Always learning.
  • ptrmckyptrmcky Posts: 44Member
    Never thought about it being an issue with my triggers. I'm using Calumet Pro Series triggers and Bowens Gemini 500R lights.
  • ptrmckyptrmcky Posts: 44Member
    Just checked the camera with my Yongnuo flash and it is syncing fine at 1/250. My triggers must be delayed a little and just catching the second curtain.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 0
    edited April 2014
    Strange, with the Calumet Pro triggers I never had a problem with 1/250 and the Bowens Gemini 400. The problem in the different brand trigger world is, that nothing speaks with nothing, hopeless. Maybe it is your build in trigger in the Bowens 500R ! with the plugged in radio receiver card. My Bowens Gemini 400 does not have that.

    Yongnuo is a little bit more forgiving and connects to more units, I bought 2 Yongnuo YN622N triggers, put those on High Speed Sync and shot with 1/4000 with the D600 and SB-800's without a problem. They had no problem with the Bowens Gemini 400 with 1/250, you can't go higher because the Bowens cannot do HSS.

    Of course the normal flash units should be able to do HSS if you want to use that.

    Elinchrom has a studio light for HSS and there is a Fomex G600 on the way for super speeds.
    Post edited by [Deleted User] on
    Those who say it can't be done, should not interrupt those doing it!
  • TaoTeJaredTaoTeJared Posts: 1,306Member
    Very few triggers can do HSS and I have read many barely do 1/125. Lighting Rumors (site) does a good job at finding those with HSS and what the sync speeds are.
    D800, D300, D50(ir converted), FujiX100, Canon G11, Olympus TG2. Nikon lenses - 24mm 2.8, 35mm 1.8, (5 in all)50mm, 60mm, 85mm 1.8, 105vr, 105 f2.5, 180mm 2.8, 70-200vr1, 24-120vr f4. Tokina 12-24mm, 16-28mm, 28-70mm (angenieux design), 300mm f2.8. Sigma 15mm fisheye. Voigtlander R2 (olive) & R2a, Voigt 35mm 2.5, Zeiss 50mm f/2, Leica 90mm f/4. I know I missed something...
  • PistnbrokePistnbroke Posts: 1,847Member
    edited April 2014
  • spraynprayspraynpray Posts: 6,089Moderator
    Great post/link TTJ/Pistnbroke, thanks.
    Always learning.
  • gdsandygdsandy Posts: 2Member
    I have the same issue. It is intermittent though so how can I test for a "lazy shutter"? It may have dust or something
  • gdsandygdsandy Posts: 2Member
    Slowing down is an issue though because if there is ambient light in the studio and you use say a 70-200, you could introduce motion blur.
Sign In or Register to comment.