D800 firmware update problem ..HELP ! !

PistnbrokePistnbroke Posts: 1,833Member
edited July 2015 in Nikon DSLR cameras
Done firmware updates before but the old D800 is just having none of it ...
firmware version is the old one.
CF formated in the D800
CF priority Firmware on CF
Battery fully charged.
Downloaded the firmware to my "downloads" section and transfered to the CF.
CF shows DCIM on the left and D800_0110 bin15,489 KB to the right
Put in camera turn on go to firmware ...just shows the old versions.

Now all have a good day and tell me how dum I am ...
Post edited by Pistnbroke on

Comments

  • spraynprayspraynpray Posts: 6,071Moderator
    Just putting the files in there doesn't update it. You have to follow the instructions.

    http://downloadcenter.nikonimglib.com/en/download/fw/16.html

    HTH.
    Always learning.
  • tcole1983tcole1983 Posts: 981Member
    edited July 2015
    You have to run the firmware update on the camera in the menu options.

    You did up to step 5 in spray's link...
    6. Select Firmware version from the camera's setup menu and follow the instructions displayed to upgrade the firmware.
    7. After the upgrade is complete, turn the camera off and remove the memory card.
    8. Access the Firmware version item in the camera's setup menu to confirm that the firmware has been upgraded.
    Post edited by tcole1983 on
    D5200, D5000, S31, 18-55 VR, 17-55 F2.8, 35 F1.8G, 105 F2.8 VR, 300 F4 AF-S (Previously owned 18-200 VRI, Tokina 12-24 F4 II)
  • PistnbrokePistnbroke Posts: 1,833Member
    done all that ..stick the card in turn on , menu, select firmware version and there it sits ..A 1.01 B 1.02 L 1.009....now if I am right it should ask me if I want to upgrade....but it does not..???
  • IronheartIronheart Posts: 3,017Moderator
    The .bin file must be at the root level, not in the DCIM folder/directory.
  • PistnbrokePistnbroke Posts: 1,833Member
    I did manage to fix it ..I think its a problem of using my old XP and firefox...downloaded ok as exe then goes to bin when run ...but I found I had to right click the file and open it which left me with a bin file which downloaded fine to E: xxxxx and then it worked fine....

    thanks for all your help
  • spraynprayspraynpray Posts: 6,071Moderator
    Just glad you didn't brick your D800....
    Always learning.
  • PistnbrokePistnbroke Posts: 1,833Member
    edited July 2015
    It is a brick ...I relied on Nikon to give me a nice quiet modern camera and they gave me junk ..cannot wait for the 56 MP replacement which I hope will be an upgraded D810 or better still a upgraded D750 with the proper memories ...

    Oh ..I hate firefox as well ..multi function curser is a pain...
    thanks again everyone for help with the firmware ....
    Post edited by Pistnbroke on
  • heartyfisherheartyfisher Posts: 3,172Member
    edited July 2015
    lol .. isnt the D810 much more quite in quiet mode ? and isnt the D810 still better than the canon mega mega whatsits ? dont winge just upgrade to the D810 !
    Post edited by heartyfisher on
    Moments of Light - D610 D7K S5pro 70-200f4 18-200 150f2.8 12-24 18-70 35-70f2.8 : C&C very welcome!
    Being a photographer is a lot like being a Christian: Some people look at you funny but do not see the amazing beauty all around them - heartyfisher.

  • PistnbrokePistnbroke Posts: 1,833Member
    Will wait for the D850/900 so I can have 56 MP FX and a 24MP DX crop...brilliant if it ever happens
Sign In or Register to comment.