Next lens selection

playtothebeatplaytothebeat Posts: 11Member
edited July 2015 in Nikon Lenses
Hello forum, hoping to get some input from the experts here.
I'm a casual photographer, mainly taking pictures of my toddler kid running around and some landscape shots. Currently have a D5100, which at some point will be replaced either with a D7xxx series or possibly an FX camera like the 750. My go to lens right now is the 50mm 1.8 which has served me quite well.

I'm looking for another lens, and am thinking that the Nikon 24-120 f/4 would be a good choice for me. On the DX body, it should give me a longer reach that might be beneficial once the kid starts playing sports and such. The cost is a tad more than I want to spend at this point, so I'm thinking of buying refurbished.

So, a couple of questions.
I've read a lot about the 24-120 lens, and I think I'm comfortable with it in terms of its quality. Do you feel it will do well on a 5100, for the purposes I described? Are there any other lenses in the general price range that I should explore?
If I buy refurb, I've noticed that prices vary slightly between various retailers. Nikonusa.com is ~$900, BPHotos is closer to $820, and Cameta camera is around $750. Any specific retailer you'd recommend over another?
I've looked at gray market, which would be cheaper than refurb. I'm not sure I'm comfortable going that route, but can be convinced..

Thanks all

Comments

• tcole1983tcole1983 Posts: 981Member
    The problem with the 24-120 if you don't go FX is it isn't really wide enough. Is the only lens you have the 50 F1.8? If you were staying DX the new 16-80 F2.8-F4 is probably a really good option for you.