Stay on Nikon or switch to Canon or shoot with both system?

2»

Comments

• WestEndBoyWestEndBoy Posts: 1,456Member
    @Pitchblack.. just curious.. I have a friend i shoot with and he loves his canon! :-) so what are all these other categories that you consider that canon is better at?
    Not sure if I can help the OP because I have no experience with consumer DSLRs and lenses, but here is a short list of ways Canon is better:
    - autofocus: the 5d3 trounces the d800. Kills it. I kind of hate the D800 AF. I have far more photos with missed focus.
    - responsiveness: the 5d3 is almost always more "ready to shoot" than the d800. The d800 feels laggy going through menus and viewing photos.
    - exposure is usually more spot on (not that it matters much with the dynamic range of the d800)
    - range of lenses and accesories (love the 85/1.2 II & 70-200/2.8 II especially)
    - flash system (I've spoken at length about this)
    - the camera software seems better thought out.
    - general ergonomics from button placement to the great little Canon joystick.
    - the grips were never a problem with my Canons, no matter the abuse. The rubber on both my d800s, my 24-70 and my 70-200 all have problems coming unstuck. Mind you, my gear really gets used, but still, never a problem with Canon.
    - Nikon isn't as nice to its customers.

But as I said, image quality is a big win for Nikon...oh, and as TaoTeJared has said, auto ISO on Canon is lame.
    Hello Pitchblack, there are a couple of things you said that have me wondering.