I am new

I'm new to Nikon and this forum. I am buying the D500 with 200-500. What shorter lens should I get? Do you recommend the 18-140?

Comments

• SearcySearcy Posts: 147Member
    My Nikor DX 35mm 1.8 is my cheapest and favorite lens.
  • FreezeActionFreezeAction Posts: 408Member
    Welcome to NR. I have an 18-140 lens and one of the best 17x22 images I've ever printed came from using it on a D5300. I don't think 3 MP less would make much diff.
  • spraynprayspraynpray Posts: 5,318Moderator
    I know you asked for one,but with the 200-500/D500 combo, I'd say 16-80 and 70-200 f4. Brilliant set-up.
    Always learning.
  • lurechunkerlurechunker Posts: 4Member
    I am very interested in the 16-80 and would appreciate opinions from those who have used it.
  • spraynprayspraynpray Posts: 5,318Moderator
    I have it. It is the best DX 'kit' lens they've mad IMHO.
    Always learning.
  • vtc2002vtc2002 Posts: 313Member
    Welcome to NR. I use the D500 for work and it's a great camera. The 200-500mm stays on it the majority of the time. I have used the 18-140mm and it is a good lens. It is weak between 18 and 24mm and when wide open. It is best between 24-140mm, stopped down to f8 to f16. I have not used the 16-80mm. I agree with @FreezeAction comment I have seen some great images using the 18-400mm and @spraynpray recommendations and that you will have a pretty sweet setup.
  • webmastadjwebmastadj Posts: 132Member
    edited August 30
    Welcome! I have the 200-500 with the D500 and it is a great combo. I also purchased the TC1.4 just for that extra reach when needed. For a shorter lens I own the 18-140mm which was the kit lens for the D5600 when I bought it. Like others have stated, it is a great lens and gives you close to the useful 24-200 range on DX (considering crop factor). I also have the DX 35 f/1.8 which is a great little fast lens on DX.