Nikon Tele-converters

2»

Comments

• blandbland Posts: 812Member
    @Beso ...... those are actually huge trees about 1/2 mile away, that's why the effect showed that way in the DOF. It was also really hot and humid that day which added to the blurry effect.
  • MsmotoMsmoto Posts: 5,398Moderator
    I agree about the greenery...I have never seen this with the same combination...an optical artifact as a result of distance is my guess.
    Msmoto, mod
  • framerframer Posts: 491Member

I hope I didn't missed this in my reading this thread. The DOF will be less w/70-200+TC2III than with a 400. In close, taking bird photos, can make or break the image.

framer
  • proudgeekproudgeek Posts: 1,422Member
    I'd like to resurrect this to ask a question about using TCs. I'm going out next week and taking a 300mm f/2.8 along with a TC1.7 (which I've never used before), effectively giving me a 510mm f/4.5 if my calculations are correct. My question is this: I tend to shoot in aperture priority. Will the camera know that my maximum aperture is 4.5? Or do I have to open it up to 2.8 in order to achieve an aperture of 4.5? I know that my D90 won't autofocus stopped down further than f/5.6, but if it's bright and I want to shoot at f/8+, I don't have to worry about that right? The camera will open up the aperture to whatever it needs to autofocus, then actually shoot at the chosen aperture. Conversely, if I shoot in shutter priority, will I be somehow prevented from choosing a shutter speed that the aperture cannot open to if I'm using a constant ISO (i.e. If I want to shoot at 1/1000s, but that requires f/2.8, which is available without the TC but not with it, what will happen)?
  • sevencrossingsevencrossing Posts: 2,800Member
    The camera will alway focus wide open then stop down to shoot
    it "knows " you have added a TC and will automatically compensate
    if you set the shutter too high it will underexposed, unless you set auto ISO

• haroldpharoldp Posts: 984Member