Buying a better camera does not mean you will get better pictures.

2»

Comments

• sevencrossingsevencrossing Posts: 2,800Member
    edited March 2013
    I try to avoid noise from high ISO's and when doing video work and comparing noise from a D7000 to the D3200 its night and day. Keep in mind, this is in a night club or venue with red lights and or low light conditions.
    Sorry Photophun, I thought we were talking about stills of sheep, cows and trees
    I have no knowledge of video

Post edited by sevencrossing on
  • Rx4PhotoRx4Photo Posts: 1,200Member
    edited March 2013
    What you want, Photophun, is to have as much 2nd nature technique to occur for you as possible. It will take time to get there as it can be a daunting task. For example, walking into a situation you initially assess the light, intensity, direction, quality, your mind goes to ISO, aperture. Where do I position myself? Subject moving or still - shutter speed. Background - want it in or out of fucus, aperture. Will shadows screw up my exposure? Subject backlit - spot metering or flash pop. Can I prop myself up against a wall or fence for stability? Will I look ridiculous if I get the shot from the floor...who cares? etc, etc.

So getting yourself into various situations will train your mind to think better and faster with regard to what your camera settings should be. Your fingers will start to move as you think and position yourself. You might be amazed at the images you start to come home with.

To answer your initial question I jumped from my D7000 to a D800 after a couple of years primarily because I initially got the D7K instead of a D700 because the D7K was new tech. I soon realized that I did indeed want a full frame camera and eventually got the D800.
    Post edited by Rx4Photo on