clarity slider in LR

VipmediastarVipmediastar Posts: 55Member
edited April 2013 in General Discussions
I recently have been clarity slider happy in light room. I try/ied to do minimal editing as possible and my goal has always been to get the best out of camera.
This past few months I have been clearing out the archives to make room for the d800 files; I just wished I knew about smart previews before I started doing this. However visiting my old photos I can see how I have grown with the camera and software editing. Whenever heavy editing was required I made possible what I could in LR and exported to Nik and mostly for HDR and black and white.

I started playing with the old photos and current photos and I like how the clarity improves an image.
With the D800 I'm using Nik less and less and haven't done HDR either.

I like how great the d800 files are and how most of editing stays in light room and I tend to move the clarity slider almost always to the right.
I know the 85mm 1.8g is sharp but this makes it sharper.

Recently I sold a 24x36 print from the d300 with sigma 10-20mm. I was a 9 shot HDR and at that size it was tooo soft for print. I sharpend for print in LR and PS but that just made the photo look textured. Finally I used the clarity slider that made the difference but made the photo a bit darker.

In the end the clarity slider saved the day. Even Nik didn't help me with the sharpen tool because I was working with a tif to begin with. I hardly print anything bigger than 12x18 so this was new to me.

What are your thoughts on the clarity slider?
If you find your lens a bit soft is this a solution for you? I did a few lens corrections for the 24-70 and the distortion and vignetting made the photo look better in some areas and the clarity makes it pop a little more.
www.vipmediastar.com

Comments

• IronheartIronheart Posts: 3,017Moderator