Sensor dust: advice requested

JohnJohn Posts: 134Member
edited December 2014 in Nikon DSLR cameras
Hi everyone,
It finally happend. For the fist time in my life as an amateur photographer, I'm comfronted with sensor dust. :-(
Back in my film shooting days, it was just a question of blowing the dust of the film and out of the camera back. Nice and easy.
(oh yes, I still had some dust spots on a negative from time to time but the cleaning felt easy and routine)
During my first years as a digital shooter I opted for a superzoom sytem camera. (So a camera without interchangeble lenses)
So, I wasn't confronted with sensor dust.
A few years ago I found that technology had finally matured enough to really give better results then film.
So, it was time for an upgrade.
That upgrade came in the form of the brand new Nikon D800 with a few of those nice f2.8 zoom lenses.
I have loved my Nikon ever since and have made thousands upon thousands of pictures without any problem.
(I always took care when switching lenses to avoid sensor dust and often used the sensor dust off features of the camera)
But last week it finally happened...
I came home after shooting a good friend's newborn son and found a little dustspot on the photo's.
(This is after over 3 years of use)
I've tried the sensor dust off features but it remains stuck.
So, right now I'm a little stuck.
I'm a perfectionist at heart so I definately want to get rid of the dust.
But should I drop it of at the local nikon repair center, the camera shop where I bought the camera and where they also provide cleaning or do it myself?
I have no experience with sensor cleaning and it feels a bit like performing an open hearth operation.
I don't want to ruin my camera...
Then again, I have no idea about the quality of the repair center/camera shop's work.
What if it comes back in worse condition then before?

So, what do you do?
What would you do in my case?
How good are the nikon repair centers?