D3300 with external flash

PapajerryPapajerry Posts: 3Member
edited January 2015 in D3x00
I'm an advanced novice from the old F1 days and bought the 3300 for my wife. Generally quite happy, and wanted to use external flash. I read previous posts with speed light vs YN flash units. She has the YN560 II unit and get acceptable results with unit on shoe. However, the onboard flash pops open each time though only partially and I'm worried about physical damage to it. Not worried about the YN, just the small pop-up unit getting scarred or electrically damaged because it doesn't stay shut when using YN on shoe. Any advice?
Tagged:

Comments

• Golf007sdGolf007sd Posts: 2,840Moderator
    edited January 2015
    What shooting mode are you using? Is she shooting in Auto-Mode? If so, just turn the pop-up flash off. On the Main Model Dial (page 4 on the manual) turn to wheel so that it turns it off. It's the lighting bolt with the line through it.

Now if she want to take full control of here light, then I wold recommend for her to shoot in full Manual Mode or at least in Aperture Priority. In this fashion the flash will not pop-up.
    Post edited by Golf007sd on
    D4 & D7000 | Nikon Holy Trinity Set + 105 2.8 Mico + 200 F2 VR II | 300 2.8G VR II, 10.5 Fish-eye, 24 & 50 1.4G, 35 & 85 1.8G, 18-200 3.5-5.6 VR I SB-400 & 700 | TC 1.4E III, 1.7 & 2.0E III, 1.7 | Sigma 35 & 50 1.4 DG HSM | RRS Ballhead & Tripods Gear | Gitzo Monopod | Lowepro Gear | HDR via Promote Control System |
  • PapajerryPapajerry Posts: 3Member
    Thanks golf. She is complete novice, but I do have her shooting in aperture preferred now, trying to teach her depth of field. she understand the concepts, just no experience. I grew up shooting manually-remember when Tri-X was the fastest thing on earth? It's been that long since I was serious
  • PhotobugPhotobug Posts: 5,751Member