Upgrades and Choices

ntime60ntime60 Posts: 7Member
edited February 2015 in Nikon DSLR cameras
Hi all,

I've been around for a long time as an amateur and for the last 15 years or so as a semi-pro. I'm a Systems Admin for a regional health care organization by trade, so I tend to be very technically inclined. Read a computer geek with a whole lot of software knowledge.

My first Nikon camera was a circa '68 F body my grandfather bought for my birthday.

Since that time, I have purchased an FE, an F5, I added an n90s around 1996, stayed with the n90s until 2006 when the D200 was released, my first real dip into the Digital era. Meanwhile I kept all my film cameras and still today occasionally will use them to shoot certain shots. Around 2009, I found a practically brand new D300 for a very attractive price and purchased that. I love the D300, it has been my goto camera for just about everything. When I need that special light, I break out the film.

I tend to snap a lot of birds of both the feathered type and the metal kind. I love landscapes and I tend to randomly go out on a drive, point the car in a direction and snap anything that calls to me. This is also how I tend to find birds of prey. I still shoot, weddings, birthdays and reunions/gatherings to finance my next case of NAS.

Over the years since buying the D200, all of my lens choices (there have been many) have been FF lenses as I've always told myself I would eventually return to FF, but that is also why I still shoot film. The digital darkroom has finally progressed to a point where I can sufficiently live without film.