D300s - focus issues

chrissie_green85chrissie_green85 Posts: 7Member
edited March 2015 in D300/D300s/D500
Please bear with me as I am not very technical and i'm useless at describing things - but I am hoping someone here can help me!

I am having focus issues with my D300s and it is driving me insane.

No matter what lens I use, my camera seems to have focus issues. It'll produce nice sharp images, and then all of a sudden it will produce something blurry. I have tried various things to rectify it, but I just can't seem to find the source of the problem.

At first, I thought it was possibly handshake, but I have been photographing for years and never experienced an issue like this before.

Then I thought that it might be the settings I use. I like to shoot manually to get the exposure I want, so I tried aperature priority, shutter priority and programme mode, and it still does it.

Someone suggested I try back button focussing, but it still does it. I also read that setting my camera up so it won't take photos unless it's actually in focus (option A1 and A2 set to focus) but that still has no effect.

I've tried various methods of focussing - Single AF, continuous AF and then single point, cross hair and auto focus and again, it still does it.

I did a practice session with my daughter the other day to try and get an example to show you all. Using studio lights, I used f8, 1/125th and ISO 200. Lens at 70mm for both images.

First image is fine

[IMG]http://i413.photobucket.com/albums/pp216/chrissie_green85/DSC_2224 ok.jpg[/IMG]

Second image was taken less than a minute later and as you can see it isn't in focus.

[IMG]http://i413.photobucket.com/albums/pp216/chrissie_green85/DSC_2227 - blurry.jpg[/IMG]

With it only being a 12 megapixel camera I know you aren't going to get perfect detail as you haven't got the pixels to do that, but surely wanting a photo to be in focus isn't asking too much :-(