Used 70-300 VR : Defective?

ElberethElbereth Posts: 10Member
edited March 2015 in Nikon DSLR cameras
Hi guys! I'm new to my DSLR (D5300) and it is my first DSLR; a dream of many years! I have been out shooting and learning obsessively since I first got it a few months ago for a big trip I am taking to Africa at the beginning of April. I decided I wanted to do a small upgrade to my kit 55-300mm dx lens that came with my camera. I was already finding the slow auto focus a bit frustrating and that was the biggest selling point for me in what I read about the Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED IF AF-S VR lens. I thought I would pick up a used copy on ebay and sell my almost brand new 55-300 to make up for most of the cost.

Unfortunately, I think the lens I picked up is defective. It was sold in "as new" condition and the seller claimed it was only used for 4 hours. I suspected the latter was just a bit of a fib to help sell the lens but thought the unit would still be ok.

So the skinny:

When I turn on the camera with the 70-300VR attached I hear 3 thunks inside the lens and the image in the viewfinder jitters a bit with each thunk. This happens every time I turn the camera on regardless of whether VR is toggled to the on or off position, active or normal. I also can't seem to see any perceptible difference between shots made with VR activated versus it off (equal number of blurred/crisp images). I also don't hear anything beyond what I assume is the autofocus. After the initial thunks, the vr doesn't seem to make any sound. However, sometimes I still get 3 mechanical thunks and accompanying jitters in the viewfinder before the image settles. Again this seems to happen randomly whether the VR is toggled on or off.