A Workflow for Traveling

ggbutcherggbutcher Posts: 390Member
edited March 2015 in Nikon DSLR cameras
I've been messing around with shooting and PP alternatives for what I like to do when I travel, that being shoot during the day, and select-edit-post in the evening. I bought the Windows tablet I've discussed elsewhere for that, and I've been playing with the various PP softwares. I'm a rank amateur with not a lot of funding, so free/inexpensive is the watchword.

I've been shooting NEF+JPEG and just NEF, trying out the various alternatives for staying high-gamut in my PP, and I've come to the conclusion that for my travel workflow, raw is just not worth the time. My final product is mostly a 640x480 JPEG, so any posterization produced by exposure tweaking isn't that noticeable, at least to me. Last night, I switched to JPEG-only and took pictures at a hockey game, one of the better ones is on PAD. Afterward, I just stuck the camera card into a USB reader on the tablet, used the Windows File Explorer to select, the Metro Photos app to edit, and my old favorite Porta to make a web album. I'd like to find a way to do the select and web album steps in Metro too, that might take software not made yet. And, I'd like to have some sharpening tool in the Metro Photos app, but the rest of it works really (surprisingly) well for basic editing. No, it's not LR+PS+Topaz+etc., but it seems to fill the bill, JPEGs to the web.

What it came down to was, I was looking for a fast, convenient alternative for basic raw conversion, and what I found is that the camera is both. Also, the PP I need most is for straightening, cropping, and some exposure optimization, and the lightweight programs like Picasa or the Windows Photos app work just fine for that.