Double Checking a 14-24

Greetings,

Long time reader/lurker, finally made an account; I look forward to participating more in the forum and discussions, and I thank everyone for the information I have gleamed from you all over the years. I am sure I can search through the bagillions of posts about this lens and find this information, but I simply don't have time and am hoping someone will be able to help me out. My apologies for that in advance...

I just ordered a brand new 14-24mm Nikkor and it is my first pro lens purchased at full price other than my 200-400 f4. Leaving aside focus adjustments, I have no experience testing this sort of optic but have heard stories of multiple returns until a flawless copy was finally received. I ordered mine through Amazon.ca which means I have every opportunity I want to return for a proper replacement, but it is up to me to test it properly...

My question(s) is(are) this(these): how or what process should I go about to test this lens and ensure that I have a proper copy? What are the most important things I should be looking out for other than focus accuracy–which is already questionable through the finder with this kind of lens in the first place–and dust/damage? In short, how can I make sure I have a good copy?

I'm super excited about this thing but don't have a lot of cash and really want to make sure I get my money's worth. This is on top of how crazy intimidated I am by that front element and lack of protective filter options! Maybe I should just grab a Wonder Pana and schlap a 145mm UV filter on it...

Cheers!
Tagged:

Comments

• NikoniserNikoniser Posts: 100Member
    I check lenses by printing out this chart - use Adobe Reader to open, and print in poster mode set to 160 %to get a chart big enough http://www.graphics.cornell.edu/~westin/misc/res-chart.html

You need to shoot from a tripod with mirror up/delay/remote release from the center of the chart and dead square on, base iso ( 100/64) .