Best place for Camera and Gear insurance

I tried a forum each with no luck on this.

I probably have $40k in camera gear accumulated now and travel quite a bit. I want to insure my gear but don't have a clue where to look. I just received a mailer from PPA and they offer $15k gear/photography insurance with professional membership. It's $27.00 a month for the membership. I'm sure you can pay more for more coverage when you join. Is this the best deal out there? What other options are available. I'm tired of pushing my luck. The airlines have scared me too many times now. Not to mention the clumsy friends tripping over things. Help!

Let me add, I'm not a working professional. That may come some day but right now I have a job and shoot mostly for the fun of it. I'm guessing I should look into indemnity as well to be safe.

Comments

• IronheartIronheart Posts: 3,017Moderator
    edited November 2015
    If you are not a professional, a rider to your homeowners insurance is generally the cheapest.
    Post edited by Ironheart on
  • autofocusautofocus Posts: 625Member
    Thanks @Ironheart. Checked mine and it's very limited to say the least. Not an option for substantial coverage.
    edited November 2015
    You need a policy rider, call your insurance agent. It's usually super cheap and based upon the total amount you want to cover.

"DEFINITION of 'Rider' A provision of an insurance policy that is purchased separately from the basic policy and that provides additional benefits at additional cost. Standard policies usually leave little room for modification or customization, beyond choosing deductibles and coverage amounts."

I should add that it is typically 1% of the value of the equip per year. So you would need $400 to insure your $40k worth of gear.
    Post edited by Ironheart on