Torn between two cameras! Help appreciated for this total newbie!

1235»

Comments

• WestEndBoyWestEndBoy Posts: 1,456Member
    What do you think Skyeyes? A lot to absorb?
  • PaRealtorPaRealtor Posts: 95Member
    edited February 2014
    You can get the SB-910 flash from Nikon refurbished PLUS an additional 10 percent off during most holiday weekends. The price comes down to LESS then the SB-700!
    Post edited by PaRealtor on
  • skyeyes70skyeyes70 Posts: 66Member
    What do you think Skyeyes? A lot to absorb?
    Well, let's put it like this...I'm not planning on quitting my day job just yet! LOL
    It's is an overwhelming amount to learn, and I'm glad to hear that the 700 or 910 can be set to auto while I'm learning. I really want to understand lighting!

I should have my camera in hand in the next few days!
    learning DSLR with D7100 18-105mm and 35mm F/1.8. I also love my little Nikon Coolpix AW100!
    flickr.com/photos/115637741@N02/
    imagesbypam.tumblr.com/ and driveby-shooting.tumblr.com/
  • spraynprayspraynpray Posts: 6,545Moderator
    The best way to understand lighting would be to use manual mode on the camera and flash and calculate the exposure by guide number as you get consistent, predictable results in any conditions. Using any automated range means when the exposure is wrong, you have to work out why the exposure is wrong then know what to do to make it right and with the Nikon system, that can be counter-intuitive.

Back in the day, you would wait for your film to come back from developing and printing to see the shots were crap and you had nothing to show for the time and money you spent, but now at least you can click and chimp.
    Always learning.
  • MsmotoMsmoto Posts: 5,398Moderator
    How did we get so far off topic on this thread? Maybe one of the lighting threads or a new thread about the "D7100 and using flash" might be appropriate after a search of the forum.