D7100 Less than 3 years old (Bought 12/13) Will not power on and just show the Low battery indicator

acmooretxacmooretx Posts: 2Member
I am a novice but have loved learning to use my D7100 and taking family photos. That said, I am a busy mom and have not used the camera a whole lot. But I charge the battery when needed and haven't had any real issues with the camera. A few months ago right before Christmas (so the camera was less than 2 years old), the camera would not power on and shows low battery. I charged the battery over night and tried again with no luck. As time has allowed I have tried to troubleshoot this issue. I bought a new battery, charged it overnight and still no luck getting the camera to power on. My husband purchased the camera as a Christmas gift from Costco and opted to not buy the extended warranty. :(
When I contacted Nikon service they told me to remove the lense and clean the contacts. I did this and still cannot get it to power on. I'm so disappointed and frustrated that we spent $2k on this camera and I am now being told I need to send it in to Nikon and will have to pay for any repairs. Any ideas on what else I can try that may correct this issue before I send it off. I have a Canon T1i that I've owned for 6+ years that has seen a lot more wear and tear and use with no issues. I'm starting to regret buying a Nikon. Help. Thanks in advance!!!

Comments

• spraynprayspraynpray Posts: 6,545Moderator
    Hi acmooretx, welcome to NR and sorry to read of your problem. I had a similar problem to you and it was a bad contact with the battery. In my case it was a hair stuck in the contact slot of the battery, but it could be in the body on yours as you have tried a new battery.

Fingers crossed!
    Always learning.
  • PistnbrokePistnbroke Posts: 2,443Member
    or corrosion in the camera body fingers...small torch and have a good look with your reading glasses on.
  • acmooretxacmooretx Posts: 2Member