DOF FX vs. DX?

Comments

• PapermanPaperman Posts: 469Member
    All of you are right - just expressions are different ...
  • DaveyJDaveyJ Posts: 1,090Member
    I have been shooting fish UW for 55 years. We have used a lot of different approaches to get good UW images, both stills and video. Currently Go Pro Black is used mush of the time when a dive or free dive starts until finished. The best Nikon set up we have used is with the 12-24DX Nikkor lens.

I have used everything from Nikonos IV to Nikonos RS (a bad leaker which ended Nikon's UW 35mm cameras) to Living Stream units with still large format to movie cameras and the whole rear of the units were custom built to keep from reflecting back into the rig.

The recently introduced Ikelite for the Nikon D5200 is about the most single practical unit I know of in the DSLR world. I see now reason to use say a D800 UW as the cost of the housing and lens, and camera added to the very real hazard of the rig flooding would rule out that approach. I stay 33 ft from the surface or less as I despise "color correction" of deeper shots. The deeper you get the more the pressures get very great and everything is mostly shades of black and blue. Artificial lighting will swing it back to looking "normal" if that is what you call it.

I always look for the side view as the most important shots of a fish and depth of field is pretty important when you are close and a fish is long. Somewhere around 10mm to 12mm lens on DX cameras is quite nice for still getting the whole fish in focus. Caution here is I have lost 8 cameras to this kind of exposure and I have never had similar loses with land cameras.
  • SatoSato Posts: 50Member
    Because of this:
    Use the actual focal length of the lens for depth of field calculations. The calculator will automatically adjust for any "focal length multiplier" or "field of view crop" for the selected camera.