Long exposure banding - Advice

I'm quite new to long exposure and it is a technique I want to become better as an amateur landscape photographer, but I'm having a little bit of banding in one of the top corner of the sky in my photo. I'm probably at fault, but I don't know what I did wrong. It was a cloudy evening, the banding is the same color as the clouds, it is not a colorful banding. It is not major, but it is annoying. I used a D610 with Samyang 14mm and a Fotodiox ND16 (RAW, f/8, 200sec, iso 100, long exposure NR On). I've shot some 30sec exposure photos before with this setup, but it was the first time the exposure was that long.

I know it would be much better with the example, but I tried to upload the photo on Flickr to show you what I'm talking about, but it is just so slow, I can't upload anything anymore. At the first sight of the settings I used, is there anything wrong?

Thanks

Comments

• heartyfisherheartyfisher Posts: 3,186Member
    edited October 2016
    DSLRs should not be used for exposures longer than 30 seconds due to sensor heating, causing cumulative noise. If you do want longer take a set of several 30second photos and then merge them. That's how star trails are done.
    Post edited by heartyfisher on
    Moments of Light - D610 D7K S5pro 70-200f4 18-200 150f2.8 12-24 18-70 35-70f2.8 : C&C very welcome!
    Being a photographer is a lot like being a Christian: Some people look at you funny but do not see the amazing beauty all around them - heartyfisher.

• tiger0096tiger0096 Posts: 13Member
    I knew for star trails, but I didn't know it was a problem for 2-4 minutes exposure, I was only expecting couple hot pixels. Thanks for the hint!
    :smiley: of course its all theory on my part.. I have never exposed more than a few seconds on my DSLRs .. someone more knowledgeable my speak up. :)
    Moments of Light - D610 D7K S5pro 70-200f4 18-200 150f2.8 12-24 18-70 35-70f2.8 : C&C very welcome!