Why do Nikon not make a 23 mm 1.8G DX ?

danishphotodanishphoto Posts: 7Member
edited February 2017 in Nikon Lenses
I am the owner of a Nikon D7200 and a D7000 (IR)
I am a street photographer. To street photography I use my 24 mm 2,8D and sometimes I borrow a 20 mm 1.8G FX
The 24 mm 2.8D is a small lens, which is great, but the optical quality is not so good on my camera compared to newer lenses and it is a 20 years old construction. The 20mm 1,8G is a great lens, but big and very expensive.
I also own a 35 mm 1,8G DX. This lens is a great, light weighted and a cheap lens.
I am wondering, why Nikon don´t make a 23 mm 1.8G DX like the 35 mm. Not many Nikon owners are street photographers. Maybe because you can´t get a good crop lens in 23/24 mm. (of course I know you can get a 24 mm 1,4 / 1.8- big, expensive and for FX)
Street photographers prefer to buy Fujifilm instead. Here you can get a 23 mm 1,4 or a 23 mm 2,0. But I first have to sell my camera and my ten Nikon lenses and this is a big job.
I hope Nikon read this post. But I don´t think Nikon is listening to their customers and users like Fujifilm is doing.
Am I the only one missing the mentioned lens?
www.500px.com/danishphoto
Post edited by danishphoto on

Comments

• NSXTypeRNSXTypeR Posts: 2,286Member
    edited February 2017
    Nikon has some very large holes in their lens lineup, and unfortunately DX shooters tend to get the short end of the stick more often than not.