Another first full frame body thread

It is with great surprise that I learned about the new D850 camera. I'm an architect and an architectural photography enthusiast that just started his small practice in the photography field. I'm having some work here and there, but still building my way to make photography for a living. A lot of investment has to be done.

I've been using a Nikon D5300 with a 18-140mm DX lens and a 50mm 1.8 for portraits/travel, this is my starter kit and the only kit that I ever used. I feel that I need a full frame camera to take bigger pictures and, in the future, use a Tilf-Shift lens to take advantage of the perspective control. I had my eyes on the Nikond D750, mainly because of the tilt screen and the price (the D810 was too expensive).

Now the D850 is released and I realized that the D750 is almost 4 years old. I'm not in the market to buy a D850 - it is way out of my prince range - but this release could mean two things:

- Is it time to buy a D810 and take advantage of the price drop?
- Is it safe to assume that the D750 will get a refresh in the near future?

Regarding the use, mainly architecture, so I don't really care about very high ISO specs, I do everything with a tripod. I also take some pictures while traveling (I like to use the 50mm, open it up all the way and do some street photography, portraits), so comfort and weight could mean something for me. No macro, sports, food and weddings :smiley:

Could you guys shine some light in here? You can check my portfolio so you know what I do http://cargocollective.com/emontenegro

Thank you,
e

Comments

• spraynprayspraynpray Posts: 6,545Moderator
    Welcome to NR eR125L.

I would have thought that in your line of business resolution is king so that means at least D810 or even D850. If funds are tight, see if you can find a D800E.
    Always learning.
  • WestEndFotoWestEndFoto Posts: 3,742Member
    edited September 2017
    Welcome ER125L.