D7200 information display appears on LCD

NikonhotepNikonhotep Posts: 25Member
The appearance of the information display on the LCD every time I change ISO is extremely annoying. It disappears when I press the shutter, but I do not want it to appear in the first place. I have no use whatsoever for this feature. Is there any way to turn this off? I'm a wildlife photographer who uses the viewfinder, and this momentarily distracts my attention from my subjects and unnecessarily consumes battery power.

My D7100s don't do this (did I set them up somehow to avoid this and forget?), and I am beginning to regret my purchase, although otherwise I'm enjoying the camera.

Comments

• PB_PMPB_PM Posts: 4,494Member
    Sadly this is the way Nikon is doing things with the consumer cameras now. Now idea why, when these cameras have the top LCD.
    If I take a good photo it's not my camera's fault.
  • BVSBVS Posts: 440Member
    I think there is a setting. The D7500 does the same thing but there is a setting to turn it off.
    D7100, 85 1.8G, 50 1.8G, 35 1.8G DX, Tokina 12-28 F4, 18-140, 55-200 VR DX
  • BVSBVS Posts: 440Member
    If there's not a setting, turning on Easy ISO or mapping the record button to change ISO might do the trick.
    D7100, 85 1.8G, 50 1.8G, 35 1.8G DX, Tokina 12-28 F4, 18-140, 55-200 VR DX
  • spraynprayspraynpray Posts: 6,545Moderator
    Sounds like my D750 - I've tried to turn that off but can't seem to find it. Not the end of the world to me, but silly not to be able to turn it off. Maybe it's because the top LCD doesn't have the good amount of info on it that the D7100's does.
    Always learning.
  • NikonhotepNikonhotep Posts: 25Member
    Dang. Ah, well. Maybe there will be a firmware update someday. Meanwhile, this weekend I'll explore the Easy ISO option and seeing if the involving the record button will work. My searches for a setting (in the camera, in the manual, and online) came up empty, hence my query here.