strange autofocus problem Nikon D90

Hi all,

Newbie here. I'm writing in to see if anyone can help me figure out this strange issue I'm having with my D90. I originally only had one long zoom and I noticed that the autofocus wasn't working well unless I was zoomed all the way in. It was a pain, but I could get around the issue by zooming in, locking focus, and then zooming out (or of course, manually focussing). I recently picked up a wide zoom (12-24 Tokina) and I found that the autofocus struggled again.

I printed a focus chart and took some shots to test out what was happening. As I suspected, the autofocus worked well so long as I was zoomed in all the way with my 18 to 200 zoom (I know, not a great lens). When zoomed out it was always soft. I switched to my wide zoom and it was always soft, so I know it's not a lens issue, but beyond that I'm at a loss, and hoping to avoid going the costly and timely route of getting my camera fixed by Nikon.

Any help would be appreciated!

Comments

• spraynprayspraynpray Posts: 6,545Moderator
    Can we assume that you have tried all the focus modes and focus points with the same results?

Where are you located?
    Always learning.
  • plondplond Posts: 11Member
    Yes, I've tried multiple focus modes and focus points. I also updated to the latest firmware and reset to the factory defaults (in case I messed something up along the way). I also tested shooting through the live view and through the view finder, getting different results for the two (live view seems to be better, but still not great). Very frustrating!

I'm located in Montreal, Canada.
    I'm struggling to think of a good reason for your problem. It's always a good idea to carefully clean the lens contacts, but I'm doubtful it will help. Let's see what others can come up with.
    Always learning.
  • PB_PMPB_PM Posts: 4,494Member