Nikon D750 -- General Discussion

Comments

• mhedgesmhedges Posts: 2,881Member
    That’s my plan. Not that I have a lot of choice anyway since I already have pretty much all the DX lenses I consider worth having.
  • cukoodukoocukoodukoo Posts: 4Member
    I have an aging D90 and have been wanting to foray into the FX segment for quite a while. Over the years I have gathered decent FX glass[ 16-85Dx,50/1.8D,105 macro,70-200 VR] .I am a hobbyist and enjoy landscapes ,city and Family pics during vacations. I was planning to buy a 24-70 Nikkor for an upcoming trip but realized that it wouldn't work with my D90.

I am now in a pickle as it seems to be a bad time to upgrade a camera unless some one wants a 850.I feel that I neither have the skill nor the use of a 45 MP pro camera. I was waiting fora D750 upgrade but here we are.I briefly considered the D500[love the features esp the autofocus system,I have shot so many pics with bad focus on mt D90 espeically moving pics],but with 90% of my glass being Fx, Its a tough call. I was wondering if it makes any sense to grab the ongoing deal on D750 or should I just go for the D500 for its autofocus.
    There also the D7200. I’m pretty happy with mine. Much cheaper unless you really need the D500’s speed.
  • Capt_SpauldingCapt_Spaulding Posts: 729Member
    edited June 2018
    If you're looking to upgrade, I suspect there are a couple of options. As @mhedges points out, you could stick with DX and opt for a D7200. They are extremely competent cameras and FX glass works just fine on them. I have one and mostly use it for macro, wildlife, and motor-racing with a 105/2.8 and a 200-500/5.6.

Personally, I've been tempted by the fire-sale deals on D750s. I have a D610 that I use for landscapes, limited event photography, and even more limited portrait work - usually with a 24-85VR and a 70-200 f4. It takes great (to me) images even with the 24-85 VR. My only gripe is the low light AF leaves a bit to be desired.