Repair or upgrade

Capt_SpauldingCapt_Spaulding Posts: 729Member
edited March 2023 in D6x0/D7x0/D8x0
I sent my D750 in for a sensor cleaning/tuneup and am being told the bayonet is bent and the repair will cost about $350. Now I’m torn. I have no plans to switch to mirrorless, but have lusted for a D850 for a while.

So my conundrum is fix the 750 or put the money towards buying an 850. I sent the 750 in primarily because of spots on the sensor. I hadn’t a clue anything else might be wrong. I have no clue how or when the 750 was damaged and am a little disappointed that it seems so fragile.

So. What to do? Any ideas?
Post edited by Capt_Spaulding on
Tagged:

Comments

• mhedgesmhedges Posts: 2,881Member
    Sounds like as good of an excuse to get a D850 as you will ever get.
  • Capt_SpauldingCapt_Spaulding Posts: 729Member
    As my son tells me, you only YOLO once.

I’ll probably repair the 750. It’s a better camera than I am a photographer.
    I'm probably going to have Nikon repair the 750, but one thing nags at me. The camera has been babied since I bought it in 2018. Never dropped, probably fewer than 4,000 shutter actuations.

Something about a bent lens mount just doesn't sit well with me. I called Nikon service and the rep said that can happen from repeated lens changes and small bumps. That doesn't feel right. The camera lives with the 24-85 on it and seldom sees a lens change. I have never even mounted my 200-500.

Has anyone ever had misgivings about Nikon's USA service operation?
  • PistnbrokePistnbroke Posts: 2,443Member
    I dont trust those bastards ..get them to clean the sensor and send it back.
    Buy a D850 they are cheap as chips now at einfinity.com camera shop
    Thanks. Nikon USA have an "all or nothing" / "take it or leave it" repair policy. They insist on fixing everything they claim is wrong or they won't do anything.

This only heightens my suspicions.

Are there any trustworthy independent camera repair centers around.