Capture NX2 and/or Lightroom?

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 197
edited December 2012 in Nikon DSLR cameras
I use Lightroom 4.3 to treat and keep track of my NEF files, and frankly I can't see any problems with the resulting images.

However, I got talking to a chap in a Nikon Pro shop who almost laughed when I mentioned Lightroom and was categoric about using Capture NX2 to import/treat his files out of the camera (and then Lightroom to 'organise' the files)

Before I spend 150€ on Capture NX2 I'd be very grateful for your input on this.

Many thanks in advance
Post edited by [Deleted User] on
Tagged:

Comments

• JJ_SOJJ_SO Posts: 1,158Member
    Well, I know "Pros" who swear on their own, best of all possible file structure and who laugh at anything else. As an amateur, I don't bring home thousands of pictures from one single event, since continuous shooting is not the thing I usually do.

I'm certain the NX2 RAW converter is the closest to the specifications of the NEF files, just because Nikon can bring all their knowledge into it. But the file management and a lot of other things a typical DAM (digital asset management) offers to me is very important, too. I use Aperture and the laugh I get from Pros usually is greater. But I'm quite happy with it and don't see an advantage to me to give up my structures for a poorly designed, slow working dedicated Nikon only solution. If you're happy with LR and can not try a test version (I don't know if there is one), stay happy with LR.