learning my new Nikon D800e

szatmariszatmari Posts: 2Member
edited March 2013 in D6x0/D7x0/D8x0
hi new here. jst about to purchase a full Nikon D800e system. i'm trying to figure out the best way to learn it thoroughly.
i'm an experienced analog photographer and am wanting to do more video production. i work as a contemporary artist.
should i buy a Lynda.com DVD for this camera or should i buy a good book. unfortunately with Lynda.com, one you join, you can't download the video tutorials and they only offer so much on DVD at 100$ a pop. maybe the DVD and a book. if a book, which one would you recommend?

Comments

• ElvisheferElvishefer Posts: 329Member
    http://www.nikonusa.com/fileuploads/Digitutor/D800/index.html

I'm not sure we're allowed to link to specific books but Thom Hogan does decent material.
    D700, 70-200mm f/2.8 VRII, 24-70mm f/2.8, 14-24mm f/2.8, 50mm f/1.4G, 200mm f/4 Micro, 105mm f/2.8 VRII Micro, 35mm f/1.8, 2xSB900, 1xSB910, R1C1, RRS Support...

... And no time to use them.
  • MsmotoMsmoto Posts: 5,398Moderator
    edited March 2013
    There is little difference basically with digital vs analog (film, I assume) The Digitutor is great. But, it may be worthwhile to simply review the manual. And, then start shooting a lot of the same things you did with film. Once you understand the menus in the camera, and this occurs by just exploring with the manual, you will see the advantage of digital over film in today's world. Primarily you will notice the incredible ISO available.

If you have specific problems, ask on the forum.

Oh, what is a "full system"? Lenses, etc.
    Post edited by Msmoto on
    Msmoto, mod
  • GodlessGodless Posts: 113Member
    edited March 2013
    hi new here. jst about to purchase a full Nikon D800e system. i'm trying to figure out the best way to learn it thoroughly.