Carry Everywhere Camera

aquarian_lightaquarian_light Posts: 135Member
edited April 2013 in General Discussions
Okay, first I'm sure there have been many questions like this before, but on the search bar I didn't come up with much information I was wanting to know, which is just honest opinions.

So before I jump into the question, a bit about me. I've been shooting portraiture for near 2 years. I have a D800E and it's a beautiful camera and I am nothing but happy with it.... in the studio. I obviously don't care to lug the thing around when I'm just out to the cafe or at a family dinner. But I always get an itch when I see an image I want to take, but have nothing but a crappy smartphone to take it with. So here's what I'm looking for. Any suggestions that fit all or most are welcome. I have my own considerations but I won't mention them just cause I want to know what you all think without bias to the system I mention.

So here it goes, I don't much care for spec sheet comparing. I can do that myself. I don't care about pin point clarity, I don't care about frames per second, and I don't plan on shooting Avatar 2 so video specs really mean nothing to me. Just people who own cameras and can tell me why they like them or don't.

Without further ado, what I'm looking for....
1-Highly Portable. Pocketable is a plus, but fitting in a messenger bag is perfectly fine. The D800 hurt's my bad neck on long walks, weight is more the issue than size.

2-At least decent image quality. I would prefer a larger sensor than that of a P&S, but it does not have to be interchangeable lens. (however being interchangeable is a relative plus or at least having a decent fixed lens zoom. I dont like being stuck with one FL for eternity) Resolution and ISO performance are second priority to overall image quality and appearance, and more importantly ergonomics.