Advice for Photographing Horseback Riding

turnthedarncranksturnthedarncranks Posts: 116Member
edited May 2013 in Nikon DSLR cameras
I've taken a number of less than creative shots of my daughter riding. Other than trying to pan while she's on the move (a skill I am working on), and getting as low as possible to make her jumps look more epic, any thoughts on creative shots or good settings? I usually can get pretty close, or at least close enough to easily zoom to a very tight shot. Equipment is a D7000 with the 35mm 1.8G, 50mm 1.8D, and the kit 18-105 and 55-300.

Thanks!

Comments

• IronheartIronheart Posts: 3,017Moderator
    I am by no means an expert, but here's what I would try. The bond between horse and rider needs to be strong in order to perform well together. Take shots of the two of them as you would two friends, standing next to each other, perhaps her hugging the horse, feeding an apple, placing the saddle, or bridle, or other tack. Brushing the horse, etc, you get the idea. Think of some of the classic poses of statues of generals on horseback, horse rearing up, front hooves clawing the air prepared to rush into battle :-) I'll stop now.
  • MsmotoMsmoto Posts: 5,398Moderator
    My opinion only......Don't pose any shots.... follow her around with her horse, the 18-105 is good, shoot everything you can when she is at the stable from arrival to departure. Just try not to be in the way. Allow her to do what she does with her horse in the usual course of the day. Shoot backlit and front. I would avoid flash. My guess is this is about a 150-300 shot job over about three hours.

You will get about five great shots if your technical skills are OK. Be aware of proper horse/human spatial relationships, i.e., do not walk up behind the horse.

Just my thoughts on how i would do it....
    Msmoto, mod
  • GarethGareth Posts: 159Member