Using old Nikon lenses on new 5200 DSLR

RanierguyRanierguy Posts: 3Member
edited May 2013 in Nikon Lenses
I am looking to move from Canon DSLR to the new Nikon D5200. I worked as a photojournalist in the 70's (UPI) and have a large collection of Canon F series lenses that are unusable on their DSLR cameras. A fellow photog who recently passed away left me his old Nikon Fs cameras and their lenses. I haven't picked them up yet, but wonder if they will work on the D5200 and other Nikon DSLRs?

Thanks in advance for any assistance that is provided

Comments

• Golf007sdGolf007sd Posts: 2,840Moderator
    edited May 2013
    I would recommend you going with the D7000 or the new D7100. All of the older generation Nikon lenses will work with these two bodies...but not with the D5200 because it does not have the internal autofocus motor, so it will not autofocus with original-style screw-drive AF lenses.

Best wishes....
    Post edited by Golf007sd on
    D4 & D7000 | Nikon Holy Trinity Set + 105 2.8 Mico + 200 F2 VR II | 300 2.8G VR II, 10.5 Fish-eye, 24 & 50 1.4G, 35 & 85 1.8G, 18-200 3.5-5.6 VR I SB-400 & 700 | TC 1.4E III, 1.7 & 2.0E III, 1.7 | Sigma 35 & 50 1.4 DG HSM | RRS Ballhead & Tripods Gear | Gitzo Monopod | Lowepro Gear | HDR via Promote Control System |
  • macsavageg4macsavageg4 Posts: 75Member
    You can use them with varying degrees of functionality on the D5200. For AF to work the lenses need to be either AF-S or AF-I lenses. The manual focus lenses will work on it but you will need to shoot in full manual and you won't have any metering so it will be gold old fashioned full manual. Af confirm appears to function at apertures lower than f/5.6 if I am reading the specs properly. As Golf stated above a D7000 or D7100 will allow for better functionality with the older AF lenses and the older MF lenses.
  • RanierguyRanierguy Posts: 3Member
    edited May 2013