stay with D200 or get new D7100?? need advice

jtoppingjtopping Posts: 8Member
edited May 2013 in D90/D7x00
hi,
im a long time shooter, but not a pro. I currently have a D200 and DX 18-200 lens. My camera really suffers in low light situations, either live concert/club shooting, or in low light interior shots (weddings). I see some amazing low light shots now where the colors and sensitivity are amazing!

What will be my best option for low light???? upgrading to a newer camera (D7100) with a way better sensor or buying a better lens ( DX17-55 f2.8)???
I have a feeling it will be a newer sensor... that D200 is from 2005! A new lens will only offer me one or two fstops better right?

or is it because im shooting jpg and not processing from the raw files? is THAT how i get photos that have remarkable detail and lighting?

IM about to invest in some new gear, but im not a pro so i cant buy whatever i want. I was even contemplating the FX vs DX format... but thats not an issue if i can get the photos i want.

thanks for the input in advance
Jeff

Comments

• birdmanbirdman Posts: 115Member
    edited May 2013
    Jeff, I hope no one gives you offensive replies. Sometimes there are trollers on here and they make posts that have no rhyme or reason -- but your post does not fit that definition. That being said, I'll try to be objective with my advice. The reason you're "old" camera has worse ISO capabilities is that it uses a CCD sensor as opposed to a CMOS. "Only One or Two Stops" is a HUGE advantage/progress in high ISO situations!! Sometimes, one generation newer DLSRs can give you 1/3 stop up to 2/3 stop of ISO/noise level increases. For the price of the D7100, I'd keep the D200 and buy a refurbed D600. It will give you tremendous ISO capabilities, good frame rate, great build quality, and you can still use the REMOTE shutter release if you already have one.