No more details/focus past f/16?

2»

Comments

• DJBee49DJBee49 Posts: 133Member
    Just building on Msmoto's posts - it is normal when using 4X5" cameras in studio, especially for close up work such as jewellery shots, to use apertures as small as f45 and even f90. With the 'standard' lens for 4X5" cameras having a focal length of 150mm (and 200mm - 300mm lenses commonly used), very small apertures and expert use of movements on monorail cameras is the only way to achieve critical sharpness. When you get everything right, the results are truly astounding. Not easy though!

The f64 group used 10X8" cameras for the most part and were forced to use such small apertures and camera movements for the same reasons, except with 10X8s, it is much harder! The 'standard' lens for a 10X8" camera is 300mm - with the same limitations on depth of field as this focal length demonstrates on any other camera.

I am not an expert on optical design but you are obviously dealing with different parameters here, as a lens designed for a 4X5" camera not only has to cover the 4X5" format but also the off-axis movements of the camera's movements. In other words, it must project a sharp image onto an even larger area at the focal plane than the film/sensor size. Presumably, the designer of such a lens builds into this design a minimal amount of sharpness deterioration as a result of diffraction effects, knowing that such apertures would inevitably be used as standard practice.
  • TaoTeJaredTaoTeJared Posts: 1,306Member
    edited June 2013
    I think everyone is circling around the concept that:
    Optimum Focus is not the same as Optimum Sharpness.
    An image can be in focus (think of a mountain landscape with the focus of the closest object being 1000's of meters away) and could be easily shot at f11-F22 with no noticeable issues. It is all in focus and looks "correct."