D800 not consistent with sharp images

turbohardtopturbohardtop Posts: 5Member
edited July 2013 in D6x0/D7x0/D8x0
I have the D800 that I bought about 4 months ago and I noticed that I am not able to get sharp images consistently. I am fairly new to this hobby so the camera is mostly left in the P mode and auto focus. When shooting stationary subjects I do not get sharp focus in all the pictures. The lens I am using is 18-300/f3.5 VRII. The camera is set at AF-S and and is set at 51 points of focus. Where should I start to troubleshoot this problem. My wife believes that the camera was more consistent when we just bought it.

Comments

• ghadiardjaghadiardja Posts: 25Member
    edited July 2013
    Hi turbohardtop, a camera's auto-focus accuracy should not degrade over time, unless the lens/body has taken a hard knock. Can you please clarify what you meant by "The camera... is set at 51 point of focus"? Are you manually selecting the focus point or letting the camera auto-select the focus points? If it's the latter, it sounds like the camera may be focusing around the subject rather than on the subject itself. The quick fix to this is to switch to manual focus point selection so you can aim it at the subject rather than let the camera decide.

The following information may help us further pin-point the problem:
    - Are you shooting with the camera on a tripod? Having VR on when shooting from a tripod may actually cause motion blur as the VR system compensates for handheld shake that is not present
    - What shutter speed has the camera selected for the photos that are not in sharp focus? Shooting handheld with slow shutter speed in low light or when shooting at long telephoto (e.g. 300 mm) may cause motion blur. The rule-of-thumb is to shoot at min. shutter speed of 1/(focal length) to prevent hand-shake from affecting the shot (e.g. if you are shooting at 300 mm, then min. shutter speed should be 1/320th of a second).