How to make the Nikon D3200 really perform!

IconoscopeIconoscope Posts: 11Member
edited July 2013 in D3x00
I bought a D3200 a few days ago and was very disappointed in the quality of the images it was producing. The problem seemed to be that the signal to noise ratio in the image sensor was marginal. So I started playing around with the settings and learned a lot! First; the RAW image format is poorer quality than the jpeg 'fine' images, with (unbelievably) compression artifacts at ISO 400! Aren't Raw images supposed to be uncompressed? Not in Nikon's D3200 cameras! So step #1, don't use RAW format at high ISO. Poor SNR...hmmm, probably caused by packing way too many sensor sites on to a comparatively small sensor array chip. The obvious solution; reduce the number of pixels. Yep, cut the image size down to 13.5 megapixels in the camera settings. AMAZING DIFFERENCE!! Images are incredibly crisp! This is what I expected from a 24 megapixel camera! The smaller size image has a four times better SNR! The image quality is so good it can easily be up sampled back to the 24 megapixel size and still have the benefit of the improved SNR and dramatically improved image quality!! :D

Comments

• JJ_SOJJ_SO Posts: 1,158Member
    edited July 2013
    Hello and welcome at the NR-forum. Some of your statements sound hard to believe to me. You read the manual, did you? At least the bits about compressed RAW (Uncompressed, losless and compressed are the options). My guess is, you've chosen "compressed" and 12bit. But since you didn't give the information, it's only guessing. Maybe you can verify that?
    Post edited by JJ_SO on
  • IronheartIronheart Posts: 3,017Moderator
    Raw images when viewed with zero post processing can sometimes be pretty grim. What program are you using to view the raw image?
  • NSXTypeRNSXTypeR Posts: 2,286Member
    How are you editing the photos and what program are you using? It's hard to believe that jpgs are better than RAW.