Upgrading from a D200...

sedillonsedillon Posts: 6Member
edited August 2013 in Nikon DSLR cameras
So, I've been shooting with a D200 for about 5 years now. I started with an 18-200 and eventually sold it, I've found I'm a prime person ;) and shoot with mostly my 35mm f/1.8 now but also my 50mm f/1.8. I'm considering a 10-24 as well down the line. I'm not pro, but I am what I would consider a "serious hobbyist" I guess? I do portrait photography sessions, mostly newborn sessions but also sometimes babies and children.
ex:

Anyway... the D200 is outdated. Very. I've been frustrated with it's low-light performance since pretty much the beginning and when shooting natural light newborn sessions in someone's house where you can't much control how much light is available, it's a big issue. Nikon has increased the performance of their cameras, specifically in low-light, SO MUCH since the D200 came out and I think it's time to jump ship. I'm seriously looking at the D7100 and I think it's everything I need, but I'm feeling a bit weird about what feels like taking a step back - of course the D7100 is far superior to the D200, but it is more of a regular consumer class camera rather than the D200's "prosumer" class camera. I think I'm getting the impression that I would have less control with a D7100 than I do currently with my D200? Incorrect or correct hypothesis? I could look at the D600 also, but that's a MUCH bigger investment, not just for the body but also to upgrade all my glass from DX to FX. I'm not doing paid shoots NEARLY enough to put that much into my gear, I think? (I've moved twice in the last 18 months and haven't done a shoot in that time and have no current client base at all.)
So... step "down" to the 7100 or not? (And os it really a step down?)

Comments

• Golf007sdGolf007sd Posts: 2,840Moderator
    edited August 2013