Nikon 16-85mm or Sigma 10-20mm?

jamiebjamieb Posts: 2Member
edited August 2013 in Nikon Lenses
Right, hi guys. I've just joined, basically to ask this question. :) I'm an enthusiast photographer, and I own the D5000 with the kit lens 18-55mm (also a 50mm and a 70-300mm). I'm looking to go wider, and the auto-focus on my kit zoom is infuriating! So I'm wondering, should I get the Nikon 16-85mm, or the Sigma 10-20mm? Both I've heard are really good, and secondhand they are both about £290. Another question, how much does the extra 2mm make in the 16-85mm compared to the kit zoom in terms of width? To be honest, I would quite like to replace the 18-55mm at some point anyway...

Your help/advice would be much appreciated.

Comments

• heartyfisherheartyfisher Posts: 3,186Member
    edited August 2013
    the 16-85 is a replacement for the 18-55 while the 10-20 is an ultra wide which gives you a new vision/capability

It depends on how you like your wide end. the 16mm is = to 24mm FF and the the 24mm FOV is the most favored of all FOV by professional photographers. ( however i think that survey probably leans towards Press Reporters/photographers ) the 16-85 is probably the sharpest DX normal zoom. So you will be getting a great kit.

However the 10-20 is a different beast all together. You may love it or you may hate it. see the current Utrawide discussion thread where I am frustrated that I don't much use my Ultrawide.

What do you find "infuriating" about your autofocus?
    Post edited by heartyfisher on
    Moments of Light - D610 D7K S5pro 70-200f4 18-200 150f2.8 12-24 18-70 35-70f2.8 : C&C very welcome!
    Being a photographer is a lot like being a Christian: Some people look at you funny but do not see the amazing beauty all around them - heartyfisher.

• dissentdissent Posts: 1,329Member
    Here's Thom Hogan on the 16-85 -
    http://www.bythom.com/Nikkor16-85lensreview.htm