New member with a new camera / lens!

FesterFester Posts: 8Member
edited October 2013 in General Discussions
Hi,

Got my first DSLR lens combo. My first SLR was almost 16 years ago but was Nikon F70D. Proud owner of D800, 24-70mm f/2.8G ED AF-S Nikkor lens ,B+W 77mm Clear UV Haze with Multi-Resistant Coating filter, 64GB ultra SD and extra battery for now. Very excited to learn many new tricks (I'm a novice/starter!).

Looking at everyday prime lens and light travel tripod stand plus a stylish bag (messenger) that can carry above plus a 13" MacBook retina! Any suggestions will be appreciated!!

Thanks!!

Comments

• paulrpaulr Posts: 1,176Member
    Congratulations Nice outfit, now you have no excuses, From what you have written, you are venturing on carrying some pretty heavy equipment on your travels,Macbooks and 24-70 lenses and other primes + your other extras will soon add up,. If you are to get the best from your gear, give some serious thought to what tripod you buy. With all high end Nikon Pixel cameras, any form of camera shake will soon show.
    Camera, Lens and Tripod and a few other Bits
  • sevencrossingsevencrossing Posts: 2,800Member
    edited October 2013
    welcome Fester

the D800 and 24-70mm f/2.8G is a fantastic combination

I would hold buying a prime until you have a better idea what you want

eg

wide angel 24mm f 1.4
    macro 105 mm f 2.8
    super tele 800 f 5.6

For tripods and bags try to do a search* as both subjects have been extensively disused, as have all the lenses I have mentioned

I personally hate messenger bags as they can lead to sever back ache. I would look at the use Low Pro flipside

* the forum search is, I am afraid, not easy to use
    Post edited by sevencrossing on
  • Golf007sdGolf007sd Posts: 2,840Moderator
    @Fester: Shoot about a 1000 images with your combo them after seeing what focal length you like best..then come to us and we will give you some ideas.