My next camera ?

petersvppetersvp Posts: 8Member
edited November 2013 in Nikon DSLR cameras
I am fortunate to own a D3X and D3S (both reliable workhorses that have given me no problems and to which I am much attached!) However, I value a good pixel count and keeping up to date, so now that I have funds to upgrade one camera what should I consider doing next? Should I go for the D800 (to replace the D3X) or the D4 to get a few more pixels and other improvements from the D3S or wait for a possible D4X or D5, if such a camera is produced? Or should I just wait and see as any improvements might be minimal? I am an amateur photographer with interests in all fields except portraits. Forum members wise advice and opinions would be appreciated as I have no idea where Nikon might be going next in its high-end DSLR kit. Thanks.
Tagged:

Comments

• WestEndBoyWestEndBoy Posts: 1,456Member
    I would wait until the next generation - so the D5 assuming you don't mind the size. If you want serious resolution, then go with the D800 now.

My camera cycle was F80 (I bought it in Japan, the N80 is the same camera), various Pentax Optios, Coolpix A and then the D800. I considered the D700 generation the first time digital approached film in quality, then I waited one more generation for Nikon to work out the bugs and I feel that the D800 is the first 35mm DSLR that is obviously better than film (so much debate could be had over this simple statement - I still play records on my Linn). My F80 got a lot of use while I was waiting and people were looking at me strangely this time last year.