Torn between two cameras! Help appreciated for this total newbie!

skyeyes70skyeyes70 Posts: 66Member
edited January 2014 in Nikon DSLR cameras
I have researched and read and struggled over what to do and now, I'm going to ask for help!
I am moving from a point and shoot to DSLR. I actually got a D3200 kit from Costco for Christmas and got it out, set it up, watched hours and hours of videos on youtube, took a few pictures, packaged it back up and returned it for a full refund a week later. While I think it was a great camera, I realized pretty quickly that it was not the one for me even though I thought I had done a ton of research before I made the purchase. I did learn a great deal about shooting in M (which is one of my goals-- take great pictures in M)

Now, I am looking at choosing between D7000 (selling for $699) and refurbished D600. I missed the $1300 ebay deal at Roberts for the D600, but I'm thinking it will come around again there or somewhere else. Yes, huge difference in price. Yes, I have the money for either. I know I will need to get a lens (planning for a prime to start off and then, Mother's Day isn't too far away). The question is I guess one I will have to answer...do I need to spend the money on the D600!!

Given my experience level and my scope of knowledge right now, obviously either of these cameras will give my lots for room to grow! I do understand the need for good glass! I'm committed to becoming an amazing photographer and want to take portraits, architectural, and general family shots. Eventually, I would like to hone my skills and talent to be qualified to actually earn some money (a girl can dream!), but if I never get to that point, then I still want to at least produce some amazing work from my awesome hobby!