Torn between two cameras! Help appreciated for this total newbie!

Comments

• NSXTypeRNSXTypeR Posts: 2,286Member
    edited January 2014

I agree with TTJ. I would have recommended the same had I thought it through a little more. My suggestion to get the D600 was based on your comparison with the D7100 and the fact that you would get it used and my feeling that you would be compelled to upgrade in a few years. However, all you need to do is resist the urge to upgrade your camera for as long as you can.
    I agree with this statement here too. We love spending money here on the forums, especially if it's not our money. Usually when you bring up gear questions with no budget, people go nuts and go for their ideal gear loadout, which usually ends up being $3-4,000, at the minimum.

You can very well learn the fundamentals of everything in photography with a D3200. I started off with a D40 and stayed with it for 5 years before it gave up on me. I'm still learning, but the D3200 is already a better specced camera than the D40. I think you'd be better off to chill out, learn the ins and outs of this camera, buy maybe a 35mm 1.8 beyond the kit lens and just learn to shoot with what you have.
    Post edited by NSXTypeR on
    Nikon D7000/ Nikon D40/ Nikon FM2/ 18-135 AF-S/ 35mm 1.8 AF-S/ 105mm Macro AF-S/ 50mm 1.2 AI-S
  • TaoTeJaredTaoTeJared Posts: 1,306Member