Torn between two cameras! Help appreciated for this total newbie!

Comments

• skyeyes70skyeyes70 Posts: 66Member
    ok, I appreciate all you guys! My head is about to explode but I'm learning so much! LOL
    I still haven't made my final decision. I think I have purchasing paralysis!! Obviously, by this time, what I WANT is more than I want to spend!! Hence I don't think I can get the 610 or 800. ;)

learning DSLR with D7100 18-105mm and 35mm F/1.8. I also love my little Nikon Coolpix AW100!
    flickr.com/photos/115637741@N02/
    imagesbypam.tumblr.com/ and driveby-shooting.tumblr.com/
  • WestEndBoyWestEndBoy Posts: 1,456Member
    But WE WANT to spend your money......
  • rbrylawskirbrylawski Posts: 222Member
    ok, I appreciate all you guys! My head is about to explode but I'm learning so much! LOL
    I still haven't made my final decision. I think I have purchasing paralysis!! Obviously, by this time, what I WANT is more than I want to spend!! Hence I don't think I can get the 610 or 800. ;)

I've read every post with interest in this thread. I'd suggest that the absolute best post and advice was from TaoTeJared. What he wrote should make your decision simple.

And if I can offer my personal perspective, I upgraded this year from a D5100. I could have bought a D600/610, but I have not sipped the FX is better cool-aid.....yet. So, for me the D7100 was the camera I chose and trust me when I say it's way more competent than I am. From what you've written about where you are in your photographic journey, the D7100 will serve you well. Some day you may find you've outgrown what a D7100 can do, but I'm betting the camera will be generations old before that happens.

We all love to have the next best and then some. Don't be fooled into believing you have to spend more to take great pictures. After all, the old saying "it's the eye behind the lens that makes the most difference" is the absolute truth.